Must Love Tofu

Five weeks ago I gave up oil, salt, sugar, dairy, and gluten, hoping I would lose 10lbs by the time my best friend got married three weeks later. While I only lost 7lbs by the wedding, I’m down 14lbs as of my last weigh-in a couple days ago, and I have decided to continue this new lifestyle for the indeterminate future.

And let me tell you: if this ice cream-loving, chip addict can do this, you can, too.

In a nutshell, this diet is based on the Eat to Live book that claims to cure migraines and diabetes with this plant-based “nutritarian” diet. I make no claims to understand the science behind the diet, but if you want to read it and attempt to understand it, go for it! The main idea is that you can eat as many fruits and veggies as you want during three meals per day. No snacking is allowed, and after six weeks, you can introduce one carb – like a baked potato or rice – per day. Ideally you’ll eat lettuce, beans, nuts, raw onions, and mushrooms every day. I don’t, but the diet still works.

A Typical Day’s Meals

Breakfast: a hard boiled egg and a smoothie made with frozen fruit and coconut water. Yes, I still eat hard boiled eggs. This is one of the big things that makes this diet possible for me, so I’m willing to break the rules. And coffee. Lots of coffee, sometimes with soy, almond, or coconut milk.

Lunch: a salad, maybe another hard boiled egg if I’m really hungry, carrots and hummus, and fruit. La Croix instead of soda.

Dinner: a salad and either 1) roasted veggies, baked in foil in the oven with no salt seasoning; 2) portobello mushrooms water sautéed with onions and other veggies; or 3) baked tofu. Often times I’ll make a bunch of quinoa and either eat it hot with the veggies or tofu, or eat it cold on my salad.

And that’s pretty much it. It’s very boring.

About the baked tofu: one recipe is made with nutritional yeast, the other is made with coconut aminos. And you can buy both at Trader Joe’s! Each recipe has only three ingredients and is super easy to make, but it’s not something you can whip up in a few minutes. I like to bake both recipes for an hour. Once they’re cooked, you can cut them up to use in salads, or make a dipping sauce for the tofu. My favorite dipping sauce so far is this no oil peanut sauce.

About salads: I have two favorites I make all the time. The first is spring greens with dates and walnuts. The second is lettuce with corn, pico, cucumbers, sunflower seeds, and avocado. The best dressing I’ve made from scratch is this no oil Dijon recipe. I also keep garbanzo beans, hearts of palm, bell peppers, and cherry tomatoes on heavy rotation in my salads, as well as dried apricots for dessert.

If you are interested is this new lifestyle of mine, feel free to post a comment with questions or DM me. You should also check out Hello Nutritarian, Cookie and Kate, and Pinch of Yum for delicious recipes that are far more exciting than I’ve posted here!

And if you’re in the area, text me if you want to go on an Eat to Live date to Chuck’s produce. Their green drink with coconut water is my new favorite.

Leave a Reply

