The 2017 Reading Challenge Begins

My friend C challenged her Twitter followers to a 50-book reading challenge, and I jumped on board, hoping it gives me the motivation to read outside my usual favorite genres. So far I’ve been successful, but that’s likely because my only appointment television this year has been two reality shows that air on the same night. The reading challenge includes books in categories like a graphic novel, a book you’ve started but never finished, and a book set in your hometown. Let me know if you want to join us!

Here are my January reads so far:

Empty Mansions I’m reading this as an ebook from the library and really need this in print for the pictures. It’s a non-fiction tale about a reclusive heiress who spent the last 20 years of her life in a hospital despite being well enough to live in one of her many palatial mansions. Fascinating! 

Hungry Heart This is the memoir of one of my favorite authors, Jennifer Weiner, and it’s about her life as a mom, an author, and as a “big girl”. It’s lovely and she has an incredible reading voice. 

Vinegar Girl This is my first pick of the modern Shakespeare retellings from beloved authors. Based on Taming of the Shrew, I only sort of liked this book, but I admit the original version is troubling so she could only do so much with the characters. 

The Woman Who Stole My Life I love the Irish author Marian Keyes and this book is yet another good read with complexly crafted female characters. It’s not new, but it was new to me. If you’ve never read her, it’s time to start! 

One thought on “The 2017 Reading Challenge Begins

  1. Loving this challenge. Just finished “The Perks of Being A Wallflower,” and now have huge stack of books I will never finish.

Leave a Reply

