Another Day, Another ER 

I spent five hours in the ER today and was discharged without a diagnosis. I’ll spare you the details, but let’s just say I’m in a lot of pain and after all the tests show nothing wrong me, I’ve begun to feel like I’m making it all up. Except I’m not. I was crying so hard this morning I made the baby cry. 

This is not our first pre-Thanksgiving visit to an ER. When we lived in DC, we ate Taco Bell about a week before we planned to drive to New York to spend the holiday with friends. Both of us got food poisoning but G’s was worse and we spent a night in the ER where they pumped him with IV fluids. He barely had an appetite for the delicious Thanksgiving meal H made us a week later on Staten Island. 

And let’s not forget the weekend before Thanksgiving in college when I was in a huge car wreck, but thankfully none of us were hospitalized overnight. 

And G just reminded me that right before Future President’s first Thanksgiving, he fell off the changing table and we had to monitor him for a concussion. 

So we don’t have the best track record of being healthy for Thanksgiving. Here’s hoping whatever is wrong with me has a diagnosis by Thanksgiving or I’m going to end up spending the whole day in bed. 

And on that happy note, my bed is calling. Goodnight. 

3 thoughts on “Another Day, Another ER 

  1. Oh no! I’m sorry you’re not well. Your Thanksgiving plans this year sounded so good, I hope you’re feeling up to them. If I lived closer I’d come over and help you prep. Love you!

  2. Well, that does not sound like a good Thanksgiving pattern. I hope you find out what’s going on, heal quickly, and that Thanksgiving is as happy as possible!

Leave a Reply

