Election Day

Tomorrow. Election Day. Dread. Horror.

And a little bit of gallows humor. I had the good fortune of attending a Norah Jones concert a few weeks ago, and it was wonderful. She is a gifted performer and surprised us all with this hilarious and perfectly timed song.

My Dear Country

Lyrics:

‘Twas Halloween, and the ghosts were out
And everywhere they’d go, they shout
And though I covered my eyes, I knew
They’d go away
But fear’s the only thing I saw
And three days later ’twas clear to all
That nothing is as scary as election day
But the day after is darker
And darker and darker it goes
Who knows, maybe the plans will change
Who knows, maybe he’s not deranged
The news men know what they know, but they
Know even less than what they say
And I don’t know who I can trust
For they come what may
‘Cause we believed in our candidate
But even more it’s the one we hate
I needed someone I could shake
On election day
But the day after is darker
And deeper and deeper we go
Who knows, maybe it’s all a dream
Who knows if I’ll wake up and scream
I love the things that you’ve given me
I cherish you, my dear country
But sometimes I don’t understand
The way we play
I love the things that you’ve given me
And most of all that I am free
To have a song that I can sing
On election day

 

Thanks for reading Day 7 of NaBloPoMo! NaBloPoMo November 2016

Read other NaBloPoMo posts here:
Day 6: Daddy’s Boys
Day 5: I’ll Just Leave This Here
Day 4: 2016 Book Lovers’ Gift Guide
Day 3: Once Upon a Hong Kong Winter
Day 2: Parenting Hacks
Day 1: Created Equal 

11 thoughts on “Election Day

  1. Pingback: Choose Kindness | Perspectives from a Hard Boiled Egg

  2. Pingback: Long Live Snail Mail | Perspectives from a Hard Boiled Egg

  3. Pingback: The Day After | Perspectives from a Hard Boiled Egg

  4. Pingback: The Sun Also Rises | Perspectives from a Hard Boiled Egg

  5. Pingback: Eggnog Lattes for Lazy People | Perspectives from a Hard Boiled Egg

  6. Pingback: I Found a Dollar in the Wash | Perspectives from a Hard Boiled Egg

  7. Pingback: The Ugly American | Perspectives from a Hard Boiled Egg

  8. Pingback: But Mommy, The Guts! | Perspectives from a Hard Boiled Egg

Leave a Reply

