I’ll Just Leave This Here

On Friday I came home from work genuinely frightened about Election Day. I fear Trump will take office and rule as a dictator, or if he loses, he will cause his followers to riot and cause anarchy. Either way, we lose.

It might not be as dramatic as that, but I have no shame in admitting I checked the closet for provisions and am confident we can survive for a few weeks on the food in our house. We have plenty of toilet paper. I’m not exactly sure what I think is going to happen, but I just want to be prepared.

And then this morning we woke up to the most amazing double rainbow. It was as if God was sending a message: don’t fear. I’ve got this.

I’ve had many doubts about God – from His very existence to questioning the power of prayer – and I still doubt and question but I’ve decided I do believe this: fear isn’t going to get me anywhere. What’s the meaning of a double rainbow? Who knows. But I needed it today and tonight I refuse to let fear win.

Thanks for reading Day 5 of NaBloPoMo! NaBloPoMo November 2016

Read other NaBloPoMo posts here:
Day 4: 2016 Book Lovers’ Gift Guide
Day 3: Once Upon a Hong Kong Winter
Day 2: Parenting Hacks
Day 1: Created Equal 

12 thoughts on “I’ll Just Leave This Here

  1. Pingback: Choose Kindness | Perspectives from a Hard Boiled Egg

  2. Pingback: Long Live Snail Mail | Perspectives from a Hard Boiled Egg

  3. Pingback: The Day After | Perspectives from a Hard Boiled Egg

  4. Pingback: The Sun Also Rises | Perspectives from a Hard Boiled Egg

  5. Pingback: Election Day | Perspectives from a Hard Boiled Egg

  6. Pingback: Daddy’s Boys | Perspectives from a Hard Boiled Egg

  7. Pingback: Eggnog Lattes for Lazy People | Perspectives from a Hard Boiled Egg

  8. Pingback: I Found a Dollar in the Wash | Perspectives from a Hard Boiled Egg

  9. Pingback: The Ugly American | Perspectives from a Hard Boiled Egg

  10. Pingback: But Mommy, The Guts! | Perspectives from a Hard Boiled Egg

Leave a Reply

