Eat to Live

On Tuesday, September 1, I decided to try something radical until we depart for Hawaii next month. I’m trying the Eat to Live diet, which might be the craziest thing I’ve ever attempted, considering this diet isn’t exactly kid friendly and I’m ending up making two or three separate meals at each meal…as if I had time to spare! But here I am attempting it anyway. Four days in and I can report that it’s very, very hard. Worth it? We’ll see. I weighed myself and have lost weight, but will wait until the end of Week 1 to report how much.

Eat to Live is a nutritarian diet. It boils down to these basics, but you can read more about the dos and don’ts here:

  • Eat unlimited amounts of fruits and vegetables, beans and tofu
  • Limit starchy vegetables and grain intake to 1 cup/day
  • No animal products (including dairy)

I’m easing into this diet, as you’ll see from my daily menus: I have been unsuccessful in avoiding all animal products as well as oil. I LOVE EGGS. I haven’t had a single bite of cheese or yogurt (unless you count the little bit of baby’s yogurt that ended up on my hand this morning at breakfast…instead of wiping it off, I licked it. Oh, how good that tasted!). I also forgot that I’m supposed to avoid all oils and used olive oil in the pan before making scrambled eggs one day. Another cheat: my husband made dinner and was unclear on the new diet rules, so I ate a little bit of pasta along with the sauteed veggies he made.

So I’ve failed already, but I’ve also been very, very proud of myself. For example: yesterday was a student worker’s birthday and I bought donuts for her and didn’t eat a single one. Then a bundt cake appeared in the lunch room and I didn’t have any. Today my boss brought lemon poppyseed cake (my favorite) to work, and I didn’t eat a bite. I went to a Mexican restaurant on Tuesday night and didn’t eat a single chip.

Day 1

  • Breakfast: apple slices, 2 scrambled eggs topped with salsa (scrambled without oil or butter)
  • Lunch: Mason jar salad consisting of balsamic dressing, beets, apples, celery, bell pepper, lettuce; banana (the balsamic dressing should be balsamic vinegar only; salad dressings must have no oil. This diet has a huge learning curve!)
  • Dinner: Salad consisting of arugula, jicama, pineapple topped with peanuts and pepper; side of rice and beans (the rice was slightly more than the 1 cup of grains allowed per day)
  • Drank 1 cup of green tea and 1 cup of English Breakfast tea (this is more caffeine than is recommended on this diet, but something’s gotta give!)

Day 2

  • Breakfast: tofu and mushroom scramble, peach slices
  • Lunch: Mason jar salad consisting of balsamic dressing (again, another oops), tomato, cucumber, mushrooms, garbanzo beans and lettuce; apple and raisins
  • Dinner: 1 cup of pasta (a huge no-no) with roasted veggies and tomato sauce; salad with avocado, dried cranberries, carrots, bell pepper and cashews (the cranberries should have been omitted since I already had raisins)
  • Drank 1 cup of green tea and 1 cup of English Breakfast tea (still too much caffeine)

Day 3

  • Breakfast: coffee with almond milk; two scrambled eggs (made with olive oil, oops) topped with avocado, tomato and salsa
  • Lunch: Massaman curry with rice (after I ordered, I realized this curry has potato in it, so I was well over my 1 cup limit of starchy vegetables/grains. This was a pre-planned lunch meeting and I couldn’t figure out what to order that fit this diet. Anyone know what’s safe at a Thai restaurant?
  • Dinner: Lettuce wraps with tofu, mushrooms, edamame, water chestnuts, pineapple and low-sodium soy sauce
  • Drank 1 cup of green tea

Day 4

  • Breakfast: coffee with almond milk; tofu mushroom scramble with basil
  • Lunch: leftover lettuce wraps, banana, peach
  • Dinner: sweet potato (1 cup) topped with prunes; salad with cucumber, tomato, carrots, bell pepper and dressed with balsamic vinegar 
  • Drank 1 cup of English Breakfast tea and one Diet Pepsi (also not allowed but I’m a rule breaker when necessary!) 

If you’re considering this diet, I highly recommend Kristen’s blog, My Momma Told Me. She provides a lot of guidance for the six-week plan as well as recipes. I’m excited for my 1/2 cup of steel cut oatmeal tomorrow! 

    One thought on “Eat to Live

    Leave a Reply

    