The Four of Us

When my husband and I were first married, I didn’t know if I wanted kids. He always did and his wish was for two sons. 

One day, soon after I turned 30, I woke up and had baby fever. It was bad. I remember crying in the middle of Starbucks because I wanted a baby so badly but the timing wasn’t right. (I laugh at this now. When is the timing ever right?!?) 

When I was pregnant with our first, we went to our 20 week ultrasound, convinced we were having a girl. I already had her name picked out, Eleanor Grace. The ultrasound tech told us it was a boy. I started crying. My husband was overjoyed. 

I got pregnant again and we had some testing done that revealed the gender at 13 weeks: another boy. I called my husband at work to tell him. He sighed a huge sigh of relief. Two boys. His dream come true. 

I love my husband very much. I thought I knew how much until I saw him with his sons. Now that love has multiplied. He is adored. He has more patience with them than I do. He gets down on the floor to play without being asked. He tells stories and prays every night with them. He actually watches Cars and Cars 2 over and over and over again with Future President and together they can recite the dialogue. 

A tremendous lawyer by day and an awesome dad all the time, I am blessed to call him my husband.  

 

Leave a Reply

