5 Months Later

At some point I stopped counting Junior’s life in days and weeks. We’ve moved on to months now and before I know it, we’ll be counting years.

Junior is 5 months old. Milestones reached: a bottom tooth is coming through the gum; he reaches for and swats at toys; he hasn’t rolled over on his own yet but is tolerating tummy time a little more; he willingly sits in the stroller with straps on instead of being buckled in his car seat; and he fits into 9 month clothes! He still just barely tolerates sitting in the Bumbo and jumper, but if it buys me a few more minutes of dinner prep or eating with both hands, I’ll take it. During the day, he will take two good, long naps but lately has been a terrible sleeper at night. The only way I can get him back to sleep is to feed him, but I know he doesn’t need to eat every 2 to 3 hours. This is something we’re going to have to work on because I can’t function on such little sleep.

He has baby fat rolls all over, and I especially love his chubby thighs. He likes to baby talk and laugh and tries to sing along with his big brother or the radio. Future President gets the biggest laughs and smiles from him. I mean, he is just smitten with his big brother.

And I’m probably imagining it, but I think he’s learning how to wave.

Leave a Reply

