Happy 4th Birthday

Four years ago on Valentine’s Day, my first baby was born. He was 11 days early, a pleasant surprise because we had scheduled an induction to ensure my husband would be at his birth as the bar exam was scheduled so close to his due date.

Four years goes by very quickly. I wish I could remember, physically remember, how small he was when I first held him. Even though Junior came along only four months ago, I can’t remember what a newborn feels like in my muscle memory. I wish there was a way to make a molding of the size and shape of a newborn, but as they grow, so do a parent’s muscles and the 16 pound baby doesn’t feel heavy, even though just a few months ago, he was half that.

Three has been our toughest year yet. Future President skipped the terrible twos and embraced the torturous threes. There were epic tantrums. But I don’t want to dwell on those, because they were also great moments: success at speech therapy; the complete embracing by Future President of his role as big brother; riding a bike; advancing in swimming lessons; sleeping through the night again; expanding his vocabulary with words like condiment and raucous; counting to 100 and loving math. He went on his first overnight camping trip with Daddy and Grandpa (and rode a llama!) and vacationed in Hawaii, Walla Walla, Sunriver, Rosario and California. He learned to love play doh and sidewalk chalk and enjoyed making crafts for Great-Grandma.

Future President: you are one of the kindest and gentlest souls. You talk loudly nonstop and love Cars more than anyone else in the world. You are an expert negotiator and filibusterer. I love that every morning you carry stuffed Thomas, Olaf, your baby doll and Elmo into our room, along with whatever cars you took to bed last night. I love how much you love to read stories. I am constantly amazed at your memory, that you remember things from two years ago. I love that you pray for our family every night and catch me if I mess up any of the words in the four songs we sing at bedtime. You are more musical than your parents combined and I love your made up songs and dances and that you can play the harmonica. You are awesome. Thank you for making me a mommy. I love you.

Leave a Reply

