Cradle Cap Be Gone

My baby’s head is a disaster. He has the worst case of cradle cap I’ve ever seen and since he has almost no hair, it’s obvious to everyone. And I hate it. It’s so ugly.

I’ve tried olive oil, I’ve tried baby shampoo, I’ve tried leaving it alone. Nothing works. His four month (!!!!) appointment is next week, so I’m hoping the doctor has some suggestions. It wouldn’t bother me so much except for the fact that his scalp is so sensitive that the second I take the socks off his hands, he’s scratching his head and nicking it up so it looks like a) he has a bunch of open wounds or b) his head is full of scabs. I cut his nails all the time but if I leave his hands free of socks, he still somehow cuts up his face or head. I’m at a loss.

I know this too shall pass, and I’m probably just being vain, but I need suggestions! He’s not in any apparent discomfort or pain and smiles happily while he cuts up his scalp with his nails. I’d post a picture but it’s so ugly and gross, I don’t want any of you to see it.

3 thoughts on “Cradle Cap Be Gone

  1. Ask your doctor. Mine recommended washing with an anti-dandruff shampoo — carefully, obviously; I think it’s best done with two parents. I applied it, scrubbed gently with a soft-bristle brush, and rinsed it off, combed with a fine-tooth comb, and did it again and again. We still deal with it from time to time (like right now, sigh).

  2. We got the same advice from my pediatrician sister-in-law — Head & Shoulders. It did help, although Alice still(!) has a bit of cradle cap. She’s always had loads of hair, though, so (con) the cradle cap is hard to get at, but (pro) it’s well hidden.

    • I asked his doctor today and she said to try Hydrocortisone cream for a week. If that doesn’t work, to try Nizoral, which I think might be a more expensive version of Head & Shoulders.

Leave a Reply

