Weeknight Meals Made Easy(er)

This week I posted a plea for help on Facebook to help me brainstorm easy weeknight meals because I’ve been making the same three dishes over and over again (butternut squash ravioli, mahi mahi/turkey/veggie burgers & frozen pizza). My friends rallied and gave me some awesome suggestions.

  1. Remember the wonder that is Mexican food: Burritos, tacos, haystacks or quesadillas (with black beans and bell peppers)
  2. Grilled cheese and tomato soup
  3. Stir fry
  4. Curry
  5. Soup – lentil, French onion, potato, etc. (My problem with soup is that I need recipes because whenever I eyeball ingredients, my soup turns into stew and there’s never enough broth.)
  6. Baked potatoes
  7. Beans and rice
  8. Spaghetti and frozen meatballs
  9. Breakfast for dinner (pancakes and waffles and omelets!)
  10. Tostada shell with hummus, fried egg, salsa and avocado (this sounds sooooooo good!)
  11. Spicy beans with coconut milk

My menu planning for the week: baked potatoes and broccoli salad; homemade pizza (Trader Joe’s pizza dough FTW!); tamales and Spanish rice; curry and naan; and takeout sushi. (Because let’s face it, I’m not cooking more than four times during the week!)  Also, I found these two pasta dishes that I’m itching to try: spaghetti with parmesan, brown butter and pine nuts and one-pot lasagna.

What are your favorite easy weeknight meals? (Share them below, with recipes, please!)

2015/01/img_8037.jpg

4 thoughts on “Weeknight Meals Made Easy(er)

Leave a Reply

