2015 Resolutions

On January 1, 2014, I posted the following resolutions:

  1. Work at a standing desk more often.
  2. Walk 10,000 steps at least five days a week.
  3. Eat a quality breakfast.
  4. No iPhones, iPads, computers or anything with screens between getting home from work until after Future President goes to sleep.

If anyone’s keeping track, I give myself an F for 2014 resolutions. #1: I got pregnant. Which meant standing while working was almost impossible, especially since I had contractions so early and terrible pain ALL OVER MY BODY. #2: See #1. #3: After learning I had gestational diabetes, I actually did eat quality breakfasts for the remaining part of my pregnancy, so for five months of the year, I did okay. Maybe I only get a D-. #4: Fail, fail fail.

So, on to this year.

  1. Take care of myself. This means eating healthfully and taking time to exercise. I am not going to make a lofty goal of 10,000 steps five days a week until I am done pumping at work, because really, I cannot pump 3 or 4 times a day and go on a walk at lunch. I would never get anything done. However, stretching in the morning and at night and using the treadmill we plan to buy at the end of the month will help. I’ve been pretty good about eating real breakfasts and plan to continue. I also want to get a mani/pedi once every 3 months and a facial and a massage at least once this year.
  2. Comment on blogs. There are a few blogs I read all the time and never comment on, mostly because it’s hard to comment on Blogger blogs on my phone and most of my blog reading is done that way. However, the support I feel after reading these blogs is tremendous and I want to let my fellow bloggers know how much I appreciate their posts. If commenting on blogs was as easy as it is to comment on Facebook, I would be so happy.
  3. Spend less time on my phone. I’m renewing this vow with the best of intentions.
  4. Write and publish at least one article. Before I had kids, I published a lot in professional literature. It’s time to get back to it.
  5. Enjoy my kids. As readers of this blog know, I struggle with work/life balance and it’s really hard for me to just sit down and spend time with my kids without worrying about the mess around me and the dishes to be done and the laundry to fold. Those things can wait but my children won’t be little forever. And since we are done having babies, I really need to stop and soak in the baby fat and coos.
  6. Date my husband. We are so fortunate that our mothers provide child care for our kids but this means on weekends and evenings we hesitate to ask them for more babysitting. So if we want to go out on a date, it’s a family date. I want to find a babysitter so we can have dates again. Even once every other month would be amazing.
One thought on “2015 Resolutions

  1. Great ideas! #6 is something we’re working on this year too! Our goal is one short at-home “date” per week (after the kids are in bed) and one “real” date a month. Can you believe 10 years this summer?!?!?!?!

Leave a Reply

