Eight Weeks Old

Junior is eight weeks old today! It feels like forever and yet it’s gone by so quickly. I’m guessing he weighs around 10lbs but we’ll find out next week at his well-child checkup.

He continues to be a great napper and will fall asleep almost anywhere during the day. I sometimes lay him on my bed while I’m getting ready, expecting him to wiggle and gurgle before I can wrap him in a blanket, but I’ll look over and he’s asleep, arms above his head, completely oblivious to all the noise his brother is making. During the day, he falls asleep on his playmat, in his bouncy chair, on the couch, on the floor and of course in the car.

Night is another deal altogether. He just doesn’t want to go to sleep on his own before 10 and even then I’ve resorted to just putting him in his bassinet with the light on, hoping he’s tricked into thinking it’s daytime and will just put himself to sleep. He wakes up around 2 to eat and won’t fall asleep unless he’s on my chest or in bed with us, and then wakes up again between 4:30 and 5:30, when he will sometime go back to sleep in his bassinet.

The weirdest part of his sleep is the noises he makes. He grunts and groans and talks and coos while asleep, so much so that I wake up multiple times a night thinking he’s awake only to discover he’s still sound asleep. It’s really disruptive and I’ve thought about moving him to his own room sooner than three months but then I’d have to walk more than a foot to pick him up when he’s hungry.

The most amazing thing happened this week. He has latched on while nursing and I haven’t had to supplement with a bottle more than twice! I’m not willing to say we’ve solved the nursing crisis completely but not having to pump every two hours has been amazing. Hopefully this trend continues and pumping will only be required at work! I’m so thankful.

Leave a Reply

