An Unexpected Surprise

At Trader Joe’s the other day I was wandering down the frozen food aisle, trying to decide how many kale and butternut squash pizzas to buy (go buy one, so delicious!) when I saw a couple loading their cart with dark chocolate covered peppermint Joe-Joe’s. I smiled at them and said, “Someone is going to be very happy!” The woman asked me if I’d ever tried them. When I said no, she told me to wait. “I’m going to buy you some right now.” And off she went, returning a few minutes later with the cookies.

Who does that? I was so pleasantly surprised by this stranger buying me a package of cookies that now I want to do something equally nice and surprising for someone else. Maybe I’ll pay for the coffee of the person behind me in line at Starbucks or offer to babysit my friends’ kids or send a handwritten note just because.

The random and unexpected act of kindness really make me want to look for ways, however small, to pass on some goodness.

Leave a Reply

