Top 5 Things You Should Never Say to a Pregnant Woman

1. But you’re so big already!

2. Have you seen your belly? You could balance a cup on it!

3. Did your belly explode overnight?

4. Are you okay? You look really tired.

5. I thought you were a lot further along than that!

All of these things have been said to me in the past month.

If you see a pregnant lady, instead of commenting on the size of her belly or touching her stomach, how about saying something nice or saying nothing at all. Better yet, treat her like you normally would: with respect.

I post my pregnancy-related insults of the day on Facebook to a select group – moms and pregnant women only and the stories I hear about what people have said to them make me so mad. At this point in my pregnancy, 32 weeks and 6 days, I am thankful to still be pregnant. But I don’t want to hear what other people think, especially if it’s negative. Pregnancy is hard enough. I almost cried when a woman said, “But you’re so big already!” I know I am. Don’t people realize pregnant women are hyper aware of their size? I know exactly how much weight I’ve gained and how hard it is to turn over in bed and how uncomfortable I am all the time. I don’t have the time or energy to explain to these rude people that I am more than grateful to still be pregnant and that my baby is a normal size, which is a blessing considering all of the scares we’ve had.

The next time you see a pregnant woman, do me a favor. Tell her she’s beautiful and doing a great job.

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Things You Should Never Say to a Pregnant Woman

  1. Yesterday, I got this:
    “When are you due again?”
    “December 3rd.”
    “December! I thought it was September!”
    From a woman who has a 3 month old and SHOULD KNOW BETTER.

Leave a Reply

