If it’s not one thing…

The good news first: baby is growing normally and is exactly the right size and weight for his gestational age. (Already more than 3 lbs!)

The bad news: his kidneys have not improved and before the first month of his little life is over, he will need to undergo a procedure to fix the problem. I’m not really clear what’s involved but an upcoming appointment with the pediatric urologist will clear that up. Thank god for doctors. 

I am trying not to dwell on this issue and to be thankful for the other blessings: his heart and brain look great, he’s already head down (oh yeah…he’s REALLY low, which explains the need to pee every minute, plus the searing pains in my groin and pelvis) and he’s not a giant baby, a possible side effect of gestational diabetes. I don’t have to take diabetes medication as I’m sufficiently managing the GD with diet and exercise. But as my MFM OB said today, pregnancy is awful. 

I do feel so awful, though. It’s hard not to blame myself, although realistically there’s nothing I could have done to prevent this problem. I keep telling myself it’s going to be fine but I’m already dreading the thought of my newborn undergoing this procedure. 

He better behave himself during the next ultrasound. I literally had to be tilted so far back on the ultrasound bed for a decent scan that I thought I was going to faint. 

 

One thought on “If it’s not one thing…

Leave a Reply

