A Book-Themed Baby Shower for Baby #2

Baby shower time!

This time around, my friends threw a joint shower for me and another friend, who is having her third boy in a few weeks. It was super fun and low key. The baby stories theme was adorable with cute book decorations and corresponding yummy food. Our hostess even made bottle bookmarks with this adorable saying printed on the back: “Children are made readers on the laps of their parents.” 

I felt a little awkward registering for gifts for this second baby, but lots of moms assured me that it was just fine. I mostly need things like diapers, bottles, breast pads, pump parts, etc. instead of big items. And of course it’s always fun to get homemade blankets and new clothes for baby. I am always amazed at the DIY gifts: this time I got a baby hat, hooded towel and washcloth, and two blankets. 

I did register for some big items that are mostly wishes, not needs. When we left Utah, I gave away the exersaucer and threw away the broken playmat. I also never registered for an Ergo baby carrier the first time around and since we didn’t own the Bob jogging stroller when Future President was born, I never needed the insert for the infant car seat. Wait, maybe they are needs…and I’ll just buy them in a few weeks after the nursery is more organized.

If you have more than one kid, did you register for any items the second time around? Did you have a shower? I am so glad I did. It was fun to hang out with friends and celebrate the soon (but not too-soon) arrival of Baby #2.

Leave a Reply

