Food on My Mind

My mom knows me so well. She texted me when she got back from her last Costco trip to tell me they now carried frozen mangos and sticky rice. And my husband loves me so much that on his last shopping trip to Costco on Sunday, while I was out of town, he bought a box. And has let me eat the entire thing myself.

Mangos and Sticky RiceEven after returning from a year abroad in Thailand, I never made sticky rice. It just seemed too complicated. So I order mangos and sticky rice whenever I eat at a Thai restaurant and mangos are in season. Lucky for me, that time is now, but thanks to Costco, I don’t even have to step out of my house to eat this delicious treat.

Frozen mangos and sticky rice? I know you’re skeptical. But it’s delicious. The only thing lacking is more mangos, but since they’re in season, you can solve that problem. Except you’d have to leave the house, and that means you have more energy than I do these days.

The mangos and sticky rice are packaged in a cute banana leaf and underneath is the coconut milk. While you’re microwaving the sticky rice and mangos for two minutes, run the bag of coconut milk under hot water. Let the the sticky rice sit for a minute and then pour the coconut milk over it.

20140507-123649.jpgAnd then enjoy! Seriously, this has been lunch for the past three days. I jokingly told a friend that I’m going to buy a mini freezer just to stock with this product.

20140507-123656.jpgBut I’m serious, Costco. Don’t you dare discontinue this product. You’ve done that to me in the past. How rude!

If you’ve ever been pregnant, you know all about food aversions and cravings. This time around I haven’t had as many cravings and I’ve just started to get really hungry in the second trimester. But the weirdest thing is that something will sound so good one day, and by the time I go to eat the leftovers for lunch the next day, I just can’t eat whatever I made. So the spaghetti and meatballs that I brought for lunch two days ago are still sitting in the fridge at work. Thankfully I have mangos and sticky rice to get me through the day.

And seriously, I was not compensated for this blog post by Costco. I’m just obsessed. It’s sort of like Trader Joe’s peach salsa. I cannot get enough.

If you’ll excuse me, I’m going to lick the coconut milk out of the bowl.

P.S. According to the online dictionary I just consulted, the correct plural of mango is both mangoes and mangos. Just in case you were wondering.

 

 

Leave a Reply

