24 Hours Without a Phone

As my husband pointed out when the experiment was over, it’s probably not a great idea to keep my only means of communication turned off for 24 hours, but thankfully no emergencies occurred, unless you count my husband going to the grocery store by himself. 

On Friday at sundown, I turned off my phone and vowed not to use my iPad for those same 24 hours. And for the most part, I succeeded. I only cheated once when I looked at an incoming text message on the iPad when I was helping Future President get a video started on Saturday afternoon. This was all part of the National Day of Unplugging, a project from the Sabbath Manifesto. For 24 hours, no checking Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, etc. 

I like the idea of unplugging once a week, but I don’t like not communicating. I’m an avid texter, and that is what I missed most during those 24 hours. That’s one reason a non-smartphone is so great. It’s just a phone to be used to make phone calls and text. The next experiment is whether I can keep my phone on and use it to communicate but not constantly check social media. I think that’s going to be a little harder. 

What about you? Did you unplug? Check out the other suggestions from the Sabbath Manifesto – it’s a great list with 10 ideas on how to slow down once a week. 

Leave a Reply

