Can You Unplug for 24 Hours?

I recently read about The National Day of Unplugging, coming up on March 7-8, from sundown to sundown. The basic premise is to not use a digital device, especially your smart phone, during these 24 hours. 

I’m going to try it. And I fully expect to fail.

Even my three-year old worries if I don’t have my phone. Last night, I left my phone downstairs during the usual bedtime routine and sometimes during bath time, he likes to pretend to call someone on his plastic phone and expects me to pick up mine. “Where’s your phone, Mommy?” he asked me, which made me sad. It’s true I usually have it with me all the time and it’s absolutely ridiculous. Yes, I use it as the primary camera to take photos of Future President, but I don’t need to have it with me constantly. Texting and checking Facebook can wait.

I even made a resolution at the beginning of the year to be more present with my son, especially after work. From the time I arrive home to bedtime, I vowed not to use my phone. And I have failed miserably. I’m more aware of my usage now but I haven’t taken the steps to hide it until he’s in dreamland. 

So then I read about this day of unplugging. I’m planning to participate, but just thinking about it makes me anxious. What if someone needs to get ahold of me? Can they wait? What if it’s an emergency? We don’t have a landline, so I guess if someone needs to contact me that day, they can call my husband, who I’m almost positive I won’t be able to convince to participate in this project with me. 

So fair warning: if you try to call or text, I promise not to answer. 

What about you? Have you tried to unplug for a few hours or days at a time? Apparently digital detox is a hot topic right now, with hotels giving discounts if you give up your devices, companies have created summer camps for adults with the theme of detoxing from digital devices, and the New York TImes has posted about it. 

And I’m just nervous thinking about it. Join me, will you? 

2 thoughts on “Can You Unplug for 24 Hours?

  1. A couple of weeks ago, I forgot my cell phone in my car when I came home from work and left it there even after I had realized. Overnight! It was glorious. I missed a few texts, but certainly nothing urgent. I’m looking at the calendar for March 7-8 to make sure I don’t have anything going on that I might actually need to contact someone about — but that sort of defeats the purpose, doesn’t it??!

  2. Pingback: Giving Things Up | Perspectives from a Hard Boiled Egg

Leave a Reply

