A Gluten-Free Thanksgiving

Gobble, gobble!

Gobble, gobble!

I am so excited for Thanksgiving! I love, love, love Thanksgiving food. I’m especially excited by Thanksgiving food because so much of it is gluten free!

However, my absolute favorite Thanksgiving dish is not gluten free and there’s no adequate substitute. It’s chicken patties. My mom makes the best chicken patties in the whole world with FriChik (a vegetarian chicken substitute), saltine crackers, eggs and onions, topped with a sour cream and cream of mushroom topping. That’s the dish I miss most at Thanksgiving and Christmas. It’s also a dish my grandma taught me how to make, and just the thought of them makes me miss her.

But besides chicken patties, I don’t miss out on much at Thanksgiving since going gluten free over a year ago.

Here’s what on my fantasy gluten-free Thanksgiving menu. We’ll see if I actually try my hand at all of these this year!

Pineapple Sweet Potato Bake (similar recipe here). The first time I had this dish, I thought I had died and gone to heaven. It is so decadent, it’s basically a dessert.

Sweet potato casserole with butter, brown sugar and marshmallows. This is my husband’s favorite dish to make. He uses just the right amount of butter and brown sugar and too many marshmallows. It’s also basically a dessert it’s so sweet.

Mashed potatoes, just the way my mom makes them. I don’t know her secret and I’ve seen her make them hundreds of times. There’s just something about her mashed potatoes that I can’t replicate. Yum.

Deviled eggs, with plenty of mayo, a dash of mustard and topped with paprika. One Thanksgiving my mom accidentally grabbed cinnamon instead of paprika and sprinkled plenty on top of the deviled eggs. We ate them anyway!

Strawberry jello with frozen strawberries and bananas, just the way my grandma and mom have been making it for years.

Roasted Brussels sprouts and glazed carrots. I’ll definitely be making the glazed carrots and hoping my mom will make the sprouts, since I love the taste but hate the smell. I’m also hoping she’ll make creamed pearl onions! Yum.

And for sure we’ll have lots of cranberry sauce (I love the jellied kind from the can!) and a vegetable tray with pickles, olives, and celery stuffed with pimento cheese or peanut butter.

What’s missing? I miss stuffing. I miss the soft white bread rolls. But as you can see from the list above, my Thanksgiving is already on carb overload!

And what’s for dessert? I’ll enjoy the strawberry jello, the pumpkin nog (a famous family recipe my husband’s grandma makes every year), and I’m hoping my MIL makes pumpkin pudding. But like I said before, the sweet potato dishes on my list are basically dessert, so I don’t think I’ll miss the pie very much. And maybe one year I’ll be ambitious enough to make a gluten-free apple pie.

Besides, I’m sure we’ll be making a stop at Salt & Straw sometime during the holiday weekend for some delicious Thanksgiving flavors.

Salt & Straw Thanksgiving Ice Cream Flavors, 2012

Fun fact: the first Thanksgiving my husband and I spent together was during his last year of college. He spent his vacation with me instead of with his family because I had to work on Thanksgiving day. That night we attempted to make a small turkey, but ended up throwing it away because it burned on one side and didn’t cook at all on the other.

What are your favorite Thanksgiving foods?

Leave a Reply

