10,000 Steps

On my wrist you will find two things: a new watch (how refreshing! I don’t have to find my phone when I need to know the time!) and a Jawbone Up. I won the Up band but if I had known how great a fitness tracker was, I would have paid money for one a long time ago.

I bought a watch. #oldschool

A post shared by Mari Cheney (@hazzeltoz) on

The Up is a pedometer, sleep tracker and food tracker. It shows you how well you slept and whether you achieved your activity and food goals. You’ve probably heard of the 10,000 Steps program, which basically gives you a goal to work toward each day. I tried this once with a pedometer but somehow wasn’t motivated to reach that goal. The Up band makes me competitive with myself and I am upset when I don’t reach 10,000 steps. Yesterday, for instance, I was 2 steps short. I’m sure I actually walked more than 10,000 steps but they were not recorded because I wasn’t wearing the band for a few minutes in the morning. But it bugged me anyway!

There are multiple fitness bands on the market right now, including the Nike FuelBand and the Fitbit in addition to the Up. I recently read an article about Dennis Crowley, co-founder of Foursquare, where he talked about how he wears both the FuelBand and the Up. He also regularly records his weight on Twitter using the Withings scale! I’m not ready to do that, but I really love the motivation I get after uploading my data to my phone and can easily tell that I need to go to sleep earlier or walk a little more to achieve my goals. You can also set a silent alarm so the Up band vibrates to wake you up. It’s awesome!

I don’t like exercise, especially if it feels like exercise. I was telling with my husband this weekend that I just don’t get marathons. Who would pay to run one? Why? (I really do want to know!) But I am a competitive person, and the Up is the best way I’ve found to motivate me to get up off of my butt, even if it’s just to walk. It’s not a miracle worker, and I know it will be months before I achieve my ideal weight, etc. (Does the baby tummy EVER go away?!?)

If you’re having trouble exercising or getting enough sleep, I highly recommend a fitness tracker. If it works for me, the exercise-avoider, it will work for you!

2 thoughts on “10,000 Steps

  1. I totally agree about the marathons!!! We all remember what happened to the first guy who ran one, right?! I will not subject myself to the fate of Pheidippides, which is what I’m sure would happen to me, if I ran a marathon.

  2. Pingback: 2013 Fall TV That’s Worth Watching | Perspectives from a Hard Boiled Egg

Leave a Reply

