Planes, Trains, and Automobiles

It’s become a parenting tick: even when I’m driving by myself, whenever I see a plane, train or school bus, I get excited and almost turn around to point out the moving vehicle to my non-existent child. I do the opposite in grocery stores when I have him with me – I actively avoid toy aisles or displays with any vehicle since Future President thinks that all trips to Fred Meyer, Target and Costco involve buying him something.

Is it just me? Or does Peter own too many cars? #lifewithatoddler #planestrainsandautomobiles

A post shared by Mari Cheney (@hazzeltoz) on

When Future President is in the car, he’s excited whenever he sees a plane, train or school bus, and in addition, loves bicycles, garbage trucks, dump trucks and emergency vehicles. But he’s the most excited when he sees a “Mack” truck. Inevitably he says, “Mack truck! Lightening McQueen inside!” He thinks every semi-truck is a Mack truck and has yet to distinguish between the Peterbilt, Volvo, etc. Hell, I didn’t even know there was more than one kind of semi-truck before my kid became completely obsessed with the movie Cars.

Peter's take on Jonah and the Whale. #biblicalinterpretation

A post shared by Mari Cheney (@hazzeltoz) on

If you’re the parent of a car-obsessed kid, I’m curious about what you do to contain the madness. We already have the Cars carrying case and I love the idea of using this Ikea knife rack to display the cars in his room. And right now, because I haven’t unpacked any of my books, our bookshelves have been taken over by planes, cars and other miscellaneous toys. It’s driving me crazy. I’d love hear any genius ideas about how to reign in the mess. (Beside the obvious, of course. Remember, he’s an only child and the only grandchild on both sides, which means he is spoiled rotten.)

3 thoughts on “Planes, Trains, and Automobiles

  1. I used to be the car obsessed one in the family. Real ones. Just a geeky thing. But my girls knew all the badges of all the different makes 🙂 They aren’t going to be the girls who say “A red one” when asked by the boys what they are learning to drive in.
    Ace pictures! Thanks for sharing.

  2. Oh,my, the memories…with our son it was airplanes, a love he inherited from his father. But late elementary school he could identify any plane of any era you could find a picture of, and give specifics like engine size, type of wing, tail, etc. Both he and my husband still stop in his tracks no matter what they’re doing if a plane crosses their field of vision or hearing. 🙂 Thanks for the smiles!
    -Amy at http://www.momgoeson.wordpress.com

  3. The highlight of my commute last week was driving past the Wine Train and having Baby Dictator actually see it–and love it–for the first time. For a historian of the Cold War, you’d think I’d have better ideas on containment (of toys), but I don’t. I bought a huge basket at Cost Plus that we can throw all the toys from downstairs into, but even that has not stopped the overflow.

Leave a Reply

