Free Music, Free Books, Free Magazines!

If you haven’t been to your local public library lately, or checked out your library’s website, chances are you’re missing out on wonderful FREE things, like music and books.

The reason I mention free music is because my public library subscribes to Freegal Music, which allows me to download up to three songs per week for free! And they have a decent selection of new music, including The Civil Wars‘ newest release! So over the course of the next few weeks, I’ll be able to download their entire album. It’s so amazing. 

My other two favorite library services (besides story time, of course) are OneClick Digital and OverDrive. OneClick Digital provides audiobooks. Right now I’m listening to Kelly Oxford’s memoir, “Everything is Perfect When You’re a Liar.” OverDrive provides ebooks. My problem with ebooks is the amount of holds on popular titles. It’s been faster for me to check out the physical copy of popular titles than wait for the ebook. But it’s still a great product from the library (even if the interface needs a serious upgrade!). 

The newest e-product I’ve just started using is Zinio, which provides access to digital versions of popular magazines. For me, there’s nothing that can replicate the feeling of the glossy pages in my hands whiles I sip my iced tea outside on a warm summer day, but this is definitely cheaper than magazines subscriptions. And this way, no one will know you’re reading Cosmo. *wink*

What’s your favorite public library service?

One thought on “Free Music, Free Books, Free Magazines!

  1. Pingback: Mothers in the Legal Profession No. 316 | The Attorney at Large

Leave a Reply

