33

I’m turning 33 in a few days. It’s not a big milestone birthday or one I’m particularly dreading. I still remember my 18th birthday. I spent the longest time looking at myself in the mirror the night before, analyzing for wrinkles, white hair, etc. Of course there were none. The next day, I expected some magical transformation into adulthood. Instead, it was a normal day, celebrated with family at the Heathman, the same hotel we held our wedding reception seven years later. 

My husband was asking me what I want for my birthday yesterday. Because we are still unpacking, I can’t think of a single THING that I want – no clothes, bags, shoes, or books because we have so much stuff. And I don’t want to unpack it all. I’ve seriously considered giving away all my books to a local high school because I don’t want to unpack them. And I’m a librarian…

What I do want is:

  • For my child to go to sleep easily and sleep through the night
  • A physically pain-free day (week! year!)
  • A great meal at a new-to-me restaurant, like Andina or El Gaucho
  • My mom’s lasagna
  • A few pints of Salt & Straw ice cream in my fridge
  • A gathering of my friends, from all over, to celebrate with me (a girl can dream, right?)

Did you get what you wanted on your last birthday? 

One thought on “33

  1. Pingback: Mothers in the Legal Profession Roundup No. 314 | The Reluctant Grownup

Leave a Reply

