The Bucket List

Last week, my in-laws received the devastating news that one of my father-in-law’s best friends had died of a heart attack in Peru. (More news about his death here.)

My husband’s father and his friend had bonded over their love of llamas and were planning a backpacking trip with their llamas together this summer. On previous trips, the issue of death had come up, and both vowed to the other that if one of them died, the other would climb Mt. Adams to spread his ashes. Tragically, my father-in-law is tasked with doing this much sooner than he had anticipated.

Have you seen the movie The Bucket List? If you haven’t, grab some tissues and watch it. It’s a great film. It immediately came to mind when I heard about the too-soon passing of this friend, father, husband.

I haven’t ever made a bucket list. It’s almost too aspirational for me as I like to cross things off as I accomplish them – but maybe a bucket list doesn’t have to be so aspirational that it’s impossible to complete.

Do you have a bucket list?

One thought on “The Bucket List

  1. Pingback: Daddy’s Brother | Perspectives from a Hard Boiled Egg

Leave a Reply

