Jicama Corn Salad

Almost dairy-free for a week! Woohoo! (P.S. I’m not egg-free or meat-free. That would be way too hard!)

Anyway, I remembered a dairy-free salad I haven’t had for years because for some reason jicama is intimidating. What does it look like? How do you spot it in the grocery store? And what are you supposed to do to it to make it edible? I finally figured it out (this means my mom told me what to do) and made this delicious salad, recipe courtesy of either my Aunt June or Aunt Daphne, I can’t quite remember. They’ve probably both made it for me. It’s so, so good.

Lunch fixin's.

A post shared by Mari Cheney (@hazzeltoz) on

Jicama Corn Salad
2 large ears corn (or frozen corn)
1 green or red bell pepper, chopped
2 large ripe tomatoes, chopped
1 cup jicama, chopped
1/2 cup sweet red onion, diced
1/4 cup fresh cilantro

Dressing:
2 T fresh lemon or lime juice
1 T honey
1 T olive oil
1/4 cup water
1/2 t salt
1/2 t onion powder
2 cloves garlic, minced
1/4 t oregano
1/4 t basil

Preparation: combine ingredients for salad, whisk together ingredients for dressing separately, then pour over salad and stir gently. Chill.

My modifications: I added a lot more jicama than the recipe calls for because a)I love jicama and b)I could only find a huge-ass jicama at the store.

2 thoughts on “Jicama Corn Salad

  1. That looks so tasty! I have jicama that I have been waiting to use and now I know exactly what I am going to make. Thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

