Non-Amazon Book Sharing Sites

Goodreads, the social sharing site for book lovers, was recently acquired by Amazon. Shelfari, a similar site, was already acquired by Amazon, and it turns out that much-loved competitor LibraryThing is not Amazon-free (see this blog post). So if you’re looking for an Amazon-free social sharing site, here are some possible alternatives.

Do you care that Amazon is buying Goodreads and will thereby have access to your reading data? Are you moving on to a different site? I haven’t decided. I really like the Goodreads interface and since I already shop on Amazon, I figure they already “know” me.

Of the possible alternatives listed above, I really like the user experience and interfaces of Anobii and Book Tagger. I guess I will give each of them a try and let you know how it goes.

3 thoughts on “Non-Amazon Book Sharing Sites

  1. Reblogged this on hic sunt verba and commented:
    I will not lie to you all… I love Amazon. The main reason? I am a poor writer with a voracious reading appetite. However, monopolies are dangerous creatures, so here are some great alternatives!

Leave a Reply

