This is not an April Fool’s Day Prank

I hate April Fool’s Day. I’m so gullible so I believe the stupidest things. I have to remind myself all day long that nothing I hear is true. Nothing big and life shattering at least.

So a few years ago when my sister called me at work and said, “I just won a car,” I did not believe her. Even after she told me the whole story: that she entered to win a car and trip to an American Idol taping and had won. She had just received the phone call. “It’s April Fools,” I said. “Are you sure it’s not a prank?”

It wasn’t. And she wanted me to be her plus one on the trip! It didn’t matter that I hadn’t been watching American Idol that season and had no idea who we should be voting for, etc.

A few weeks later we were flying (coach) to LAX. I was freaking out. I was taking a million pictures. My poor sister. She’s about the most chill, calm, cool and collected person in the entire world. And if you’ve met me in real life, you know I am not. I am a librarian and I am the opposite of every librarian stereotype.

So I took a picture of the guy holding the sign with my sister’s name on it. And of us in the town car. And in the elevator at the chic hotel. And a million pictures in the hotel room because you know we will never stay in a hotel decorated quite like that ever again.

20130401-072530.jpg
And at the Ford commercial shoot where we met the “Idols.” And of us making signs to wave in the audience. And of us getting our makeup done at MAC so we were barely recognizable. And standing in line for the taping. And then afterward, when we were still on the Fox lot and we weren’t supposed to take any pictures but I spotted Laurie from Real Housewives of Orange County so I got a picture with her and George before I was firmly scolded.

20130331-212301.jpg

So now I enter every contest. I get so much spam email and paper mail but now I really, truly believe people actually win these prize packages. And if it’s a really great contest, like the HGTV dream house, I make sure my sister enters it because she is so lucky. Her luck does rub off – while in the audience I held up my sign that said “Librarians love Katie Mari” during a commercial break and before Katie Stevens was going to sing. The warm-up guy thought it was hilarious that this librarian was screaming her lungs out. I got a bag and inside was an iPod touch!
20130401-072548.jpg
I wonder what ever happened to the American Idols we met. Where is Katie Stevens now? Lee Dewyze won that season but you don’t hear much about him either. Oh well, it really was the trip of a lifetime!

One thought on “This is not an April Fool’s Day Prank

Leave a Reply

