New Year, New Me: Standing Desk

 

 

 

still hate New Year’s resolutions but I’ve decided to implement 2 changes this month that I hope to carry through the whole year (and my life!).

1) Exercise more. (More about this later.)

2) Transition my work space to a standing desk. You may have seen this New York Time’s article about standing desks, or read the news that sitting may be worse for you than smoking. I do plenty of sitting at home after work (after Future President is asleep, of course), so I knew I had to do something about it during the work day.

Lucky for me, I have adjustable shelves that move easily, plus my computer is easy to hoist. Our facilities manager ordered a keyboard riser, where I also placed my trackpad mouse. You can’t see it in this photo, but I stand on an anti-fatigue mat, which helps with back pain. Standing deskIf you plan to switch to a standing desk, here are few things I’ve learned since switching:

  1. Position the computer screen at the perfect height, so you don’t have to look up or down; rather, you should be looking directly at the screen. Craning your neck all day is just going to create more problems.
  2. An anti-fatigue mat helps! They’re available on Amazon or from your local office supply store.
  3. Footwear matters. I wore cute spiky boots to work yesterday and had to sit down a lot more.
  4. It’s ok to take breaks and sit in your chair. I switch between my computer and iPad when I sit down since I don’t have a laptop.

Of course, I’m not a medical professional, so if you’re thinking of switching to a standing desk at work, consult your doctor and all that other legal jargon mumbo jumbo.

 

 

3 thoughts on “New Year, New Me: Standing Desk

  1. I’m so lucky because I have a fully adjustable, electric desk at work. I just need to be much better about standing! I recently got the anti-fatigue mat, too.

    I keep extra shoes at work for lots of reasons, and now I’ve added a “standing desk” pair too!

    • Wow, you are lucky! A law professor in my building just got a treadmill desk but I’m pretty sure I could NEVER work and walk (much less jog) at the same time. Good idea about keeping an extra pair of comfortable shoes at work!

  2. Pingback: Happy New Year | Perspectives from a Hard Boiled Egg

Leave a Reply

