TV Shows You Might Have Missed in 2012

As the regular TV viewing season winds down for 2012, there are a few newcomers you may have missed this Fall that you can spend a few weeks watching while your favorites go on hiatus. Many of these stream for free online at the networks’ websites, apps or on Hulu. Unfortunately it’s unlikely these shows have already made their way to Netflix. If you’re lucky, they may be on Amazon Instant Video.

The Mindy Project (Fox)
Mindy Kaling is much more likable as the hapless Dr. Mindy than she ever was as Kelly on The Office. As unprofessional as she is as the only female partner in an OB/GYN office, her foibles as a single thirty something in the city are relatable. And I really like that she looks like most women in the world. In fact, I’m very likely to Google her outfits to find out where her skirts and jackets were purchased (or gifted).

Nashville (ABC)
I LOVE THIS SHOW! I’m a huge fan of Connie Britton and she does a fantastic job opposite the evil Hayden Panettiere, who I love to hate. The music is wonderful and if I had an unlimited supply of iTunes, I would download every song. I’m also now obsessed with meeting Jonathan Jackson, who stars as the creepy and mean boyfriend of the too-sweet Scarlett. J.J. is the brother of a lawyer my husband works with periodically. Small world!

I abandoned these shows but I know people with extremely good taste that love these Fall newcomers: Ben & Kate, Go On and The New Normal.

What I’ll be watching during the Winter hiatus: Parenthood, Happy Endings and The West Wing (thank you, Amazon Prime!).

Leave a Reply

