Texting Etiquette

I’m one of the biggest fans of text messaging since I hate talking on the phone. But I don’t think I have a firm grasp of text messaging etiquette. Tell me if I’m wrong, but I’m pretty sure that texting ranks closer to online chatting in terms of response time than email. Is that right?

When you’re chatting online, you expect a response right away. When you email, the other person has 24 hours to respond, right? And sooner if it’s a work email. But what about texting? I suppose it depends on the circumstances. If you’re making plans to meet up with friends in the next hour, the texting happens back and forth right away. But what if it’s a question that doesn’t need to be answered right away? If you don’t get a response, do you call instead? And if you call AND text and don’t get a response, do you assume the person is ignoring you?

Or, does texting etiquette not exist at all?

Leave a Reply

