Cardboard Testimony

For some reason, I can’t quite wrap my head around the fact that Christmas is less than a week away. I’m not in the holiday mood at all. Maybe it’s because we never decorate our house since we’re always gone for the actual holiday, but I can’t believe in a few days we’ll be in Vancouver with our families, celebrating our last Christmas together as a family of 2.

However, yesterday at church, I was deeply touched by the program, which was a selection of music and readings, all based on the theme of Emmanuel. The pastor had a few people write what he calls a cardboard testimony. One side of the cardboard read “God is with me” and the participants could write whatever they wanted to on the other side. While music played, they filed up on stage and showed the front and back. The person’s testimony that touched me most said “God is with me. I have brain cancer.” I’m not sure there was a dry eye in the church as he stood there, holding the cardboard sign above his head, music playing softly in the background.

What’s your cardboard testimony?

Leave a Reply

