Skills

I’ve been thinking about all the things I do at work that neither law school or library school prepared me to do.

For example:
I now know how to video, download, convert and burn a class. Which meant I had to figure out what software to buy and troubleshoot file types.

I learned about CSS and HTML for the library’s blog and now know how to add RSS feeds and stat counters to track use.

Marketing! Still have so much to learn.

And most importantly: how to deal with rude, passive agressive, crazy people. There should be an entire class on how to confront people.

I’m not complaining, really! It’s just amazing how much I’ve had to learn on the job. Four years of advanced degrees is worth…um…I’ll have to get back to you. I guess the degrees meant I could get my job and now it’s up to me to keep learning.

– Posted using BlogPress from my iPhone

One thought on “Skills

Leave a Reply

