Update

We’ve been in our apartment for about 3 weeks now and it’s barely begun to feel like home. On Sunday we slept on our own bed for the first time since moving in! I am so thankful we have friends in the area so we were able to borrow an air mattress and other necessities while we waited for our furniture to be delivered, but it is so nice to be sleeping on a bed now. It’s also nice to have a place to sit other than the floor! I really do hate unpacking (although packing is worse), especially in the kitchen, but I’m trying to do one box per day so it doesn’t seem too awful.

This past weekend we went to church with friends and then went on an 11 mile bike ride. I haven’t been on a bike in years, so this was an adventure for me. I guess I need to invest in some padded shorts, if you know what I mean.

So far the weather in Seattle has been fabulous and I’ve been able to use our pool and am planning on doing so today. I did not expect weather in the 80’s in September here, but I’m not complaining!

I started work last week, and it was really good. The people are nice and the environment is pretty crazy, so I think I’ll like the fact that I have to be on my toes all the time. A county law library is certainly a different environment than the academic law library I’m used to, including the fact that I have to go through security before I get to work. Last week I took my keys to work, which have a small Swiss Army knife attached–they confiscated it at the security check point and I had to pick it up on my way out. I didn’t mind, considering we’re located in the court house and it is surrounded by some seriously scary people.

But today I only have to think about the one kitchen box left to unpack and going to the pool.

Leave a Reply

