Book Review: Nineteen Minutes

I just finished Jodi Picoult’s Nineteen Minutes and if you can stomach the realism, it’s a great read. Picoult describes a small New Hampshire town and the relationships affected by a school shooting as well as how the shooter became who he became. I couldn’t put it down and couldn’t sleep at night because of this book! I stayed awake thinking about school shootings and how I would raise a child if he or she was “different”. It’s already a scary thought to think about bringing children into this world and after reading this book, I wanted to forget 8th grade and some parts of high school! I’m glad I don’t have to do that all over again. I hadn’t read Picoult before this book, but now I’m anxious to get my hands on her older work. Thank goodness for the local public library!

I started Brick Lane by Monica Ali as soon as I finished Nineteen Minutes and so far I can’t tell if it’s going to be much more optimistic. I’m okay with pessimism at the moment though…after being wait listed, I’ve been really bummed and the pressure of getting a job to pay of the law school loans is really getting to me. And Sanjaya is still on American Idol! What is the world coming to?

Happy reading.

Leave a Reply

