Sizes


How is it that I fit into a girls’ XL? On the tag it says the new jacket I purchased at the REI winter sale is for girls ages 9-14. On the one hand, it made me feel good about myself. Maybe I’m skinner than I think I am; maybe the mirror is lying. On the one hand, it made me feel sick. Are girls ages 9-14 really that big? Why can we share the same jacket?

In high school, during a very low point, B. made me look in the mirror and tell myself that I was beautiful. I obeyed her, but I felt stupid looking at myself and reciting the mantra that she had prepared for me. I can honestly say it helped and whenever I have another very low day, I think about the mantra. I don’t go to the mirror and tell myself I’m beautiful, but knowing that I’m supposed to believe that and knowing that B. thinks I deserve that knowledge helps.

In my perfect world, we wouldn’t use sizes.

One thought on “Sizes

  1. I once bought a petite shirt because it fit me. I’m tempted to think that I don’t fit in the typical ‘petite’ category… I’d live in that perfect world with you. It sounds pleasant.

Leave a Reply

